Australian String Quartet with Arcadia Winds

September 13, 2019 @ 11:00 am – 12:00 pm
Ukaria Cultural Centre

Having collaborated for the 2017 Perth International Arts Festival, the Australian String Quartet and Arcadia Winds reunite for an Adelaide residency in 2019. This special program includes two wonderfully tuneful twentieth-century works by Britten and Françaix. Both inventive and humorous in nature, these pieces are perfect for the symphonic vibrancy achieved by the combination of woodwind quintet and string quartet.

Includes Devonshire tea served prior to the performance from 10.00am.

Dale Barltrop | violin
Francesca Hiew | violin
Stephen King | viola
Sharon Grigoryan | cello

Kiran Phatak | flute
David Reicheld | oboe
Lloyd Van’t Hoff | clarinet
Rachel Shaw | horn
Matthew Kneale | bassoon


Benjamin Britten (1913–1976)

Sinfonietta, Op.1

I. Poco presto ed agitato
II. Variations, andante lento
III. Tarantella

Jean Françaix (1912–1997)

Dixtour for wind quintet and string quintet

I. Larghetto tranquillo – Allegro
II. Andante
III. Scherzando
IV. Allegro moderato

Photo: Jacqui Way