Noah Bendix-Balgley & ANAM – Schubert’s Octet

August 4, 2019 @ 2:30 pm – 4:30 pm
Ukaria Cultural Centre

‘Bendix-Balgley plays with a remarkable clarity in which every note comes through as if fully illuminated.’

– The Australian

There is always something special about witnessing a truly great artist inspiring the next generation of Australian musicians. Noah Bendix-Balgley, First Concertmaster of the Berlin Philharmonic, is just one of several international artists in residence at the Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM) in 2019.

One of the many advantages of having such a vibrant residency program is the possibility of touring performances around the country. This means you’ll get to hear Noah at UKARIA, leading students from ANAM in the Brahms String Sextet No.2 in G major, Op.36, and Schubert’s Octet in F major, D.803.

Noah Bendix-Balgley’s residency at ANAM is proudly supported by Ulrike Klein AO.


Johannes Brahms (1833–1897)

String Sextet No.2 in G major, Op.36

I. Allegro non troppo
II. Scherzo – Allegro non troppo – Presto giocoso
III. Adagio
IV. Poco allegro


Franz Schubert (1797–1828)

Octet in F major, D.803

I. Adagio – Allegro – Più allegro
II. Adagio
III. Allegro vivace – Trio – Allegro vivace
IV. Andante – variations. Un poco più mosso – Più lento
V. Menuetto. Allegretto – Trio – Menuetto – Coda
VI. Andante molto – Allegro – Andante molto – Allegro molto

Photo: Nikolaj Lund